Why Do Play by Yourself?

Rene778

As a therapist I sometimes wonder why people do things including me. I have played these silly games since I have had my hands on a computer and a game machine. So I have asked why do I play text based sports games (recent purchase of OOTP 6.5 got me back into it) and why I like to play Pokemon Colosseum on my new Gamecube. The best that I can tell is that these games helps to relieve some of the stress from dealing with everyone else's problems with their marriage, sexual dysfunctions, anxieties, and various spiritual issues...its a form of self therapy at least for me. What about u?

Well, for me, I was the youngest child in the family and my nearest sib was six years older than me. So playing games by myself was just what was. I would even play games that were meant for multiple players and pit my right hand against my left or work games between two of my favorite stuffed animals. So basically I play by myself because I always have.

Thank u Tempr for the response. A common theme appears to be developing on this issue...namely that it maybe easier and more satisfying to simply play a game than to deal with others. I deal with people on a regular basis but I am an introvert (i get my energy from being away from people) and games helps me to recharge.

I'd have to say I fit into that psych profile as well. Unlike humans, games aren't temperamental, they don't go crazy if you do something stupid(like, say, trading away an eventual hall-of-famer ... not that I've every DONE that or anything ...). Games also can be turned off and ignored if you get mad at them :). Good for stress relief, and forgetting whatever life issues may have me down at the moment.