Southeastern Championship Wrestling

A little back story here... I graduated college. With an accounting degree. Worked in a CPA firm for two years before I decided that I hated taxes, hated bookkeeping and hated auditing. After a two tear stint there, I made the move and opened my own company. I saw an opening in the market and started a weekly entertainment based newspaper. Flash forward 10 years... Now the company that I started was the owner of 12 different weekly entertainment newspapers. We had done well for ourselves. You know the kind of papers I'm talking about. They are found in bars and clubs. The goal is to make you laugh and find out where the cheapest drinks are each night. We sponsored and promoted events in the different bars that we dealt with. I had also convinced my shareholders (best friend and brother) to start a monthly magazine a few years ago that would focus on wrestling in the southeast. We had reached a point now in the company that we were flush with cash and could now branch out even further. I had been a wrestling fan my entire life. When you grew up in North Carolina, there was no WWE. There was no Hulk Hogan. There was only one, Jim Crockett Promotions. I was there the night that Ric Flair landed in the helicopter in Memorial Stadium. I watched the Road Warriors throw Jim Cornette off of the scaffold at Starrcade 86. I made fun of my brother when he hung a poster of the Rock N Roll Express on the wall. I was a fan of the horseman as they fought with Dusty, Wahoo, Magnum and Ronnie Garvin. I thought Precious and Baby Doll were the hottest women I had ever seen. I was a fan! I knew a lot of the workers and people in the business from the magazine. I approached the board with a little trepidation as I made my proposal for this. My instincts had been right in the past but I wasn't sure how they would feel about this. I knew that some of them had been fans in their childhood, but I wasn't sure how they would feel about moving into this new