IWR-King of the Indies

I was down on my luck. Just about broke. I wasn’t about to go work at Home Depot or McDonalds. Five years removed from college, and I have yet to get my break. I’ve been working on the PBS show for three years, and it’s not getting my any exposure. I’ve got to find a way to get my foot in the door somewhere, somehow. I know I’m a good writer. I watch some of this crap they call must see TV, and it blows. Fate came knocking for me this weekend. I’m a closet wrestling fanatic. I was at an IWR show Saturday. It was one of the worst I had ever been to. Don’t get me wrong, the matches were good, but it was missing the meat that gets promotions noticed, a story. Wrestling these days is like a soap opera. Sure, there are the hardcore fans that just want to see some good wrestling, but the casual fan just wants something, or someone to immerse themselves into. Get away from their everyday lives. They want to good guy to cheer for, the bad guy to boo at. Or maybe the other way around. Now IWR is just a small Indy promotion. I was sitting in the front row, there were maybe 300 people tops at the Majestic Theatre. I had seen enough, and I was drunk enough, that I let them have it. The owner, Josh Movado was in the ring, talking about some great upcoming matches for the next show. I just blurted out “This stuff stinks! My brother and I put together a more exciting show in our backyard when we were 10!” I spouted some more nonsense for a moment. To my surprise, Movado was actually looking at me, and obviously heard what I had said. He gave me a scowl, and continued. After the show, I was walking to my car, when a hand grabbed me from behind. I thought it was a mugger, and was ready to hit him, when I saw it was Movado. He said he recognized me from PBS, that he was working with them on a little documentary on Indy promotions last month. He apparently knew I was an aspiring TV writer. He went on to talk about how he wanted to spice up his shows. He checked