A Tale of Three Players

When I started playing BBCF last night, I wasn’t planning to start another dynasty story. However, when I took my first look at the high school recruits, I noticed something interesting.

There were three recruits on the list from Lewisburg Area High School, located in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania. One was a blue-chip talent, among the top ten players in the nation; one was a solid yellow-chipper who will undoubtedly be courted by many of the top programs in college football; the third was a lower-tier yellow-chip guy, good enough to dream.

I’ll be following the careers of these three players, from high school through their final college seasons. In my universe, players cannot enter the NFL draft early, so I’ll be able to tell the stories of our featured players for four full seasons, plus their senior year of high school.

I hope you'll enjoy the story.

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

August 2006

The three young men were exhausted, but there was nevertheless a bounce in their stride as they made their way across the practice field toward their locker room.

"You know what, guys?" one of them asked his teammates. He had the square-jawed, solid look of a linebacker, which was exactly what he was.

"We never have to do two-a-days again!" answered the boy to his right. He was almost the same height as his buddy, but packed a good 50 pounds more onto his frame. Even the most casual football fan would correctly guess he was a lineman.

"We never have to do HIGH SCHOOL two-a-days again," replied the one to his left. The third young man moved with the easy grace of an elite athlete. Every college coach in the United States knew his name.

"I don't want to think about that now," said the first. All three of them laughed.