I'm relatively new to the GDS community and one thing I'm struggling to understand is the concept of starting a diary to go along with your game on TEW. When I play non-diary games, I usually book 2-4 shows per sitting, however, I would imagine when you're game is tied down to a diary you can't necessarily do that. In some cases, you may have to book 1 show every few days at the most, which ruins the concept of booking many shows while you play the game. The point is, when people write diaries do they tie themselves down to just 1 show a week? Also, are diaries basically what you do in TEW but written on the forum for people to see, and in more detail? If so, I wonder what stops people from "cheating" and branching off from what they're actually doing in TEW.

I'd like to start my own diary one day, but it doesn't seem worth it to tie myself down to just 1 show a week. Do you diary writers out there have any reasons for why you do it? Is it worth all the writing? Whats the basic concept of a diary?

I'm relatively new to the GDS community and one thing I'm struggling to understand is the concept of starting a diary to go along with your game on TEW. When I play non-diary games, I usually book 2-4 shows per sitting, however, I would imagine when you're game is tied down to a diary you can't necessarily do that. In some cases, you may have to book 1 show every few days at the most, which ruins the concept of booking many shows while you play the game. The point is, when people write diaries do they tie themselves down to just 1 show a week? Also, are diaries basically what you do in TEW but written on the forum for people to see, and in more detail? If so, I wonder what stops people from "cheating" and branching off from what they're actually doing in TEW.