The Puroresu Thread

Bigpapa42

This is meant as a discussion thread, but I figured I would kick things off with some "primers" to help those who don't know puroresu to understand things a bit. Its not intended to be that in-depth and information is gleaned from a lot of sources. I freely admit I am no expert - my understanding of certain things may be skewed or plain wrong.

Feel free to ask questions, as its one of the easiest and most direct ways to learn.

What is "Puroresu"?

Quite simply, it is Japanese professional wrestling. The term "puroresu" is primarily used by English-speaking fans and is formed from the Japanese words for "professional wrestling".

A key aspect to understand about wrestling in Japan is that it is basically presented as a form of full contact sport. Some fans understand it’s a work, but essentially suspend their disbelief. Other fans accept it as "legit", in part due to the way the "sport" is covered by the media. Realistic-looking strikes are a key part, as are fairly-realistic submissions. Its not uncommon for wrestlers to have a martial arts background (often Judo). A big aspect is "fighting spirit", which often seen in big exchanges of strikes that may be no-sold by one or both wrestlers.

"Joshi" is Japanese women's wrestling, and it combines the different styles of men's wrestling.

What Makes Puroresu Different?

It might be easier to explain what is similar to the American style of pro wrestling. So much is different.