SECW: The Land of Opportunity

"Heather."

"Yeah, Ali?"

"You know last time we talked, when you asked me if I missed wrestling?"

"Yeah."

"Well, I caught your interview on Vibert's Voice... and hearing you talk about those days. And... I kind of been nostalgic, you know?"

It's been thirteen years that I've known Heather Gunnarson, better known as Honey Golightly. She was a showgirl in Vegas who worked her way through business school, got an MBA, and managed to buy a failing strip club and turn it into a success, repeating that all over the state. I worked in one of her clubs for a time, first as a waitress, then as a dancer. In the fall of 05 she asked me if I was a fan of pro wrestling. Well, I watched SWF now and then, so I said yes. She told me about her plan, Babes of Sin City. She called it "burlesque with wrestling added in". A few months later I wasn't just Ali Meyers, I was Alison Capone, the Gangster of Love. We made good money, enough that those of us who were dancers stopped entirely and focused all our energy on BSC. We only had one show a month but that one show was the end result of weeks of rehearsals. It wasn't just matches, it was musical numbers, it was comedy skits, it was a crazy show. It was my life, all our lives, for six years.

Heather broke us the news. We lost our chief investor in 2011. She was running the company out of her own pocket for a year but the debts kept piling up. By the time we held our last show, which I worked despite needing knee surgery due to a bad bump (Which was my fault, though everyone gave Cocoa De La Soleil hell for it), Heather was down so much that even after selling our tape library she was still eating five figure losses.