Newbie question on building fighters and companies

Hey I'm still quite new to this game and MMA in general so have a couple of questions about building up fighters and companies:

1. Is it better to put fighters in fights they are heavy favourites or in a more competitive fight to build their pop?

2. Should my main and comain be one sided or competitive? Or does it not matter depending on who is in them?

2. If you feed them cans how do you know when they are ready to step up in competition?

3. Is ability or pop more important? If I have two fighters and one has a lot more pop but not as good attributes as the other which should I focus on?

4. Are there any attributes that I should look for when choosing which fighters I want to protect and push?

Thanks for any help you guys can give

<p>1. It doesn't matter much. A win's a win, but competitive fights are more attractive for viewers and can be placed higher on the card. It's why Cormier vs Anderson wasn't the main event anymore. So it matters a little bit.</p><p>

2. It's a mix of name value and competitiveness, but the former dominates.</p><p>

2. When you've scouted them enough so you can see their skills. Beating up a can only results in some experience gain (though the training camp will also increase skill gain) and pop gain.</p><p>

3. Ability matters relatively little. It's all about pop. Good abilities are only needed to keep the same fighter on top as it becomes progressively more difficult to find ranked fighters he can beat if he sucks. Bad abilities can also result in very boring fights.</p><p>

4. Yes, but you won't be able to see them without going to the editor so it's pointless information.</p>

<p>So there is no really important stats to look for on the fighter screens?</p><p> </p><p>