Resurrecting the AWA (1991)

My name is Quincy Wickard, but everyone calls me Joey. I’ll get to why in a little bit. I just made what could be the biggest mistake of my life. I just bought the AWA from Verne Gagne. I grew up in Minneapolis Minnesota, and for as long as I can remember the most important thing in my life was the AWA. In school, when they asked what you wanted to be when you grew up, I said a wrestler. And that was all I ever wanted to be. I was on the wrestling team in high school, and when I graduated in 1982 I went to Verne’s farm in Chanhassen, Minnesota to learn how to be a pro wrestler. After a year of training I had my first match, which I lost. You probably never heard of me, unless you paid a lot of attention to jobbers in the AWA from 1983 to late 1985. I only wrestled for a little more than two years. Not due to a lack of desire, an injury ended my career. And it didn’t even happen in the ring. It was November 23, 1985. Even though it was winter in Minnesota, it wasn’t too cold. The previous day it had gotten warm enough to melt a lot of the snow, but that night the temperature dropped, and all the water from the melted snow turned to ice. This next part is pretty gruesome, so if you have a weak stomach you may want to skip it. It was 8 in the morning, and I was walking to my car. I heard my neighbor Deb say good morning, and I turned my head to say it back. My foot hit a patch of ice, and I fell awkwardly. I sat up, embarrassed and saw I had some snow on my pants. I went to brush it off, but it was hard, and wouldn’t move. I thought it was ice, but when I looked closer, I saw it was bone. My bone had broken, and tore through my muscle, skin, and pants. My neighbor ran into her house to call 911. I just sat there, my leg didn’t hurt, maybe I was in shock. I just sat there until Deb came back out asking if I was all right. I said I was, even though I clearly wasn’t. I just sat there until the ambulance came and took me to Abbott Northwestern