database editing

I'm new to the CornellVerse. I've noticed there are a number of companies in the database set to "Yet to Open." Do they open at some point in a game? If that doesn't happen automatically, and I give them an opening date in the database, will they populate on that date? Also, I understand from the Help file that companies will stay the same size throughout a game. Can that be altered in the database so that a company grows, shrinks or goes bust mid-game? Or will touching those setting mess everything up?

Also, I'm not clear on how I assign photos to those pesky faceless wrasslers in the game. I can't seem to find them in the database.