SWF -- This Means War! (diary)

[I][B][SIZE=3]INTRODUCTION[/SIZE][/B][/I] The phone jolted me out of my deep sleep. Rolling out of bed, I shambled over and answered it. "Hello?" "Hey, kid! This is Tommy! How ya doin'?" Even in my sleep-deprived state, I could easily recognize the voice of Tommy Cornell, the owner of TCW and my boss. I glanced at the clock. "Mr Cornell, it's three in the morning!" I grumbled, then realized that, given our recent problems, respect might work better. I sighed. "What can I do for you?" "Hey, I just wanted to call and wish you good luck!" I frowned. Good luck for what? Before I could ask him any questions, he continued. "... Because you're fired." I closed my eyes. I should have seen this coming. I was a referee in Hollyweird Grappling Company when Cornell took it over. I was one of the few staff members that he kept on, although I suspect he regretted that decision. I was perhaps a bit too outspoken about how I thought he should run the promotion, especially when Cornell made himself TCW World Heavyweight Champion. My being let go was inevitable, I guess. "But don't worry, you already got a new job." "I do?" I asked. "Yeah, you're gonna go to work for Richard Eisen. You're his new head booker." My head swam. I had to be dreaming! Everyone in the business knew that Eisen was looking for a new head booker for SWF, but why would he hire a lowly, outspoken referee? It didn't make sense! "He's expectin' you to be there in a week, buddy. Maybe you can take your high-falutin' ideas and see if they work!" With a laugh, Tommy hung up, leaving me to stare at the receiver in absolute bewilderment. The week flew by quickly. To add insult to injury, Tommy had me barred from TCW headquarters, making it impossible for me to collect what few belongings I had there. To make matters worse, most of my friends wouldn't talk to me for fear of reprisals from the head office. Thankfully, Robert Oxford, a really stand-up vet at TCW, filled me in on what happen