Gregory's Angels

Late October, 2005. Vancouver, BC ---------------------------------- The phone rang. I looked up at the clock as I rose from the couch, and knew instantly who was on the other end of the line. Only one person called at this time of night. "Hello Joanne." Joanne Rodriguez is my girlfriend. We met at the airport in Vancouver, BC. I was flying to Japan for business (I work in marketing for the Canadian arm of a Japanese electronics company that is based in a city of which I can't pronounce the name), but the plane was delayed because of a last minute weather warning. While waiting in the airport bar, I ran into a beautiful Latino bombshell, and struck up a conversation. It turned out that, not only were we on the same flight, we were seated next to each other on the plane. By the time the weather cleared enough for us to take off, we had sparked the chemistry; by the time the plane touched down in Tokyo, I'd joined the Mile High Club. That was just over two years ago, and I still couldn't believe how lucky she was to have found me. "Hi, dear. How's everything going tonight?" "Smashing, dah-ling," I said, throwing out my best Sean Connery. "I was just watching a bit of the news. How was the show tonight?" "Great! They finally let me team up with Raven again." "Well, it's about time Catherine realized how good you two are together." "Don't worry, she won't be heading the Booking Team for much longer." "Oh? Is someone new coming in?" My interest was thoroughly peaked by this point. Catherine Quine had been Anne Stardust's tag partner for years. Certainly there hadn't been a falling out between them. "Yes, and I think you'll like Anne's choice." "Why do you say that, Jo?" "Because we're going to see a lot of your ideas implemented in the near future. All those ideas you keep talking about for bringing AAA from the North West, and out into the world, are going to be given a chance." "What do you mean 'my ideas'?" I got the feeling that she was saying more