Another Player Guide Thread

I purchased BBCF when it first came out 10 years ago. I played it continuously for about three years.

I started playing it again about 6 months ago when I discovered the 2014 mod that updated the NCAA universe to reflect the present.

It's a great game...the best to date for a college football sim.

I'll share what I've experienced as to the "depth" of this sim that may go unnoticed by both new and long time players alike.

First...I play a total micro manger approach...every aspect of the game is under my control and not the AI or coaching staff...I also call each and every play every game on both sides of the ball. That being said, what I'll attempt to share may not have a lot of relevance for those who sim whole seasons or games.

After each game, there is a message from both the DC and OC on how well their units performed. I viewed this as they have studied the film of the game and are presenting that to me highlighting the good, the bad and the ugly play of the QB/RB/REC/OL as well as the DL/LB/DB.

Here's where my micro management starts coming into play. I have a little spreadsheet where I record the results for each game in the season in the following manner:

OFFENSE:

*QB

GP

BP

*RB

CR

MH

FUM

*REC

GC

DP

BR

*OL

RB

PK

SA

FS

MB

HD

DEFENSE:

*DL

SK

STF

DP

HUR

MT

OOP

*LB

SK

STF

PD

MT

BPA

OOP

(request for Arlie...please add INT's by the LB corps)

*DB

SK

PD

INT

MT

BPA

OOP

I then add up all the "positive" plays. I then do the same for all the "negative plays. Next I subtract the negatives from the positives to get the "net" game summary. Over the course of the season, by watching the "net" can give a perspective on how this effects the team's won/lost record. This along with the individual game stats summary helps to understand the results on the field. Year over year gives insight as to how the team is progressing.