Not a total newbie to TEW but it's a loooong time since I played one of the games so I may as well be.

What's a good starting company suggestion to get to grips with TEW IX without overwhelming myself, bearing in mind I know next to nothing about the CornellVerse, and any tips for getting started?

• Like 1

Starting with a promotion you are familiar with is always best. That's the advice given to all of these sports sim type games like FM/F1 or TEW.

I would suggest play with Real World mods and your favourite promotion but I don't think there are any for IX yet. 

Check the archetypes/product of the promotions in  CV and go from there. Keep in mind, following aren't 1 to 1 copies but similar enough for you to hook your self into the promotion.

Attitude era WWE - SWF

OVW era of WWE developmental - RIPW

What if WCW survived and became a modern company with focus on workrate and storytelling both or your like AEW or peak era of TNA - TCW

New generations era WWF - USPW

PG era WWE with soap opera storylines like the current Judgement day/Dom/Liv storyline - RAW

Post inoki era NJPW with sprinkles NWO/Bullet club- BHOTWG

NOAH/AJPW with King's road style - PGHW.

Dragon Gate - WLW

Chikara - ZEN

What if one of the post ECW revival promotions actually succeeded - PSW.

What if AAA had someone like Rock and killed off CMLL - EILL

Lucha underground-esque wrestling - EMLL

And so on. 

Edited by SanX
  • Like 2

If you're looking at learning the mechanics (and mechanically the game has changed a lot in the past few versions) you might look at a smaller fed as they tend to be more forgiving. NYPW tends to be good for learning sports entertainment, CZCW for work rate and CILL for lucha.

• Like 1

52 minutes ago, Doctor Crunch said: