CZCW: Anatomy Of A Tidal Wave

December 9th, 2007

Happy Birthday!!

It was finally here: The "biggest day" of my youth, my 18th birthday.. But somehow it didn't feel like it. I still missed my mother. She died of cancer in June at the age of just 44 years. To be honest I believed that after the second big surgery she would be alright, that she would survive. The doctors were as hopeful as dad and I were but.. It just wasn't meant to be as the cancer quickly came back. On a warm summers night my mother finally left this world while asleep, leaving dad and I all alone. Alone and without anyone to take care for us.

Still I tried to make the most out of my birthday. Well, truth to be told I didn't, my dad did. He had arranged everything and invited everyone into my birthday party, even the people I really didn't care for, like Ian for example. But I was glad that Jimmy, Chris and Dragon were there, I had been training with them for a couple of years now, making slow progress along the way. And by slow I mean really slow but I always try to stay optimistic.. Maybe in five years time I'll be ready to get in the ring with the guys (Yeah, in my dreams!!).. I had dropped out of school following the loss of my mother but I think that in the end the reason was that school just wasn't for me. Or that I just needed time to think things trough.. Life is too short to be studying that many years. And atleast we had a good family business going on, everything was going well and we had half a million in the bank. Even though the ghost of my mother was still around, constantly on my mind, I was living the time of my life. And just when I thought that things couldn't get any better.. I was wrong.

I was talking with Jimmy about my new surfboard that I got as a present from dad when he interrupted us, asking me to come to the living room. He was going to do a speech and I reacted with my best facepalm gesture ever, Jimmy couldn't help but laughing.. I felt so embarrased.