Lion's Gate Wrestling: From the Bottle of the Barrel (Or Beer Mug)

January 1st, 2010, 4:00 A.M. - Fireman Dan's Sports Bar, New Jersey

“Full Moon Rising! Full Moon Rising! I can’t believe it, Wolf Hawkins has dethroned the Giant Tana! We have a new TCW International Champion!”

“It looked like he caved in Tana’s face with that kick! I can’t say I like it, Jason, but one would be lying if they didn’t admit that Wolf is the best young prospect in wrestling today, bar-none!”

http://img682.imageshack.us/img682/2733/johnnyblazealt1.jpg

Abruptly, the broadcast of the old TCW pay-per-view came to a stop as my mug shattered across the TV screen, beer and glass scattering everywhere. I’ve been coming to Fireman Dan’s for two years now, and the bartender knows me well enough to make a subtle jab at my past every now and then by playing old TCW pay-per-views. If I was sober, I probably would have taken it in stride, but how likely is it to be sober in a bar at four in the morning?

“You know you’ll be paying for that, right John?”

“Yeah, yeah, just put it on my tab.”

Thankfully, the bar was mostly empty, and the regulars knew me well enough to expect me to make an ass of myself at least once a night. Knowing me better than my own mother, the bartender brought me another full mug. Back to trying to numb my entire body before I pass out and find myself sleeping in the back alley of the bar. Lifting the glass to take a sip, though, I hear my phone ringing. Grudgingly, I checked the caller ID, fearing the worst: only a few people would bother to call me, and there’s only one who would be up this late. I was right.

“Hello?”

http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/5661/tomlions.jpg

Credit to Kobe1724 for the awesome render

“Hey, John! I was worried you would be passed out by now!” He sounded a little tipsy himself.