9 firefighters dead! in South Caralina!!

davebiggs

I'm sure most of you in the states have seen this but here is the story. Oh and before anyone says they don't care.... I'm a firefighter here in florida. R.I.P My Brothers. CHARLESTON, S.C. - Fire swept through a furniture warehouse, collapsing its roof and killing nine firefighters inside — the nation’s deadliest single disaster for firefighters since the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks. “Nine brave, heroic, courageous firefighters of the city of Charleston have perished fighting fire in a most courageous and fearless manner, carrying out their duties,” Charleston Mayor Joseph P. Riley said at a morning news conference. “To all of their loved ones, our heart goes out to them.” Two employees in the building were rescued from the blaze, which broke out at about 7 p.m. Monday in the Sofa Super Store and warehouse, Riley said. One was rescued quickly, and firefighters punched a hole through a wall of the warehouse to reach the other, he said. Firefighters, police officers and other rescue workers saluted as the firefighters’ bodies were carried from the warehouse during the night. “To lose nine is just a tragedy of immense proportions,” Riley said. “To lose nine is just unbelievable.” The department has 237 firefighters in 19 companies located throughout the city of about 106,000. The cause of the fire was under investigation but Riley said arson was not suspected. He said the blaze apparently started in a storage area. He was unsure whether there were sprinklers in the building. Here are their profiles Engineer Bradford "Brad" Baity Age: 37 Length of service: 9 years Capt. Mike Benke Age: 49 Length of service: 29 years Firefighter Melven Champaign Age: 46 Length of service: 2.5 years Firefighter James "Earl" Drayton Age: 56 Length of service: 32 years Assistant engineer Michael French Age: 27 Length of service: 1.5 years Capt. William "Billy" Hutchinson Age: 48 Length of service: 30 years Engineer Mark Kelsey Age: 40 Len