Is NJPW in trouble

EnforcerM

I cancelled my NJPW sub when they started canceling shows due to COVID, and now they've gone three months without running a single show. Sub numbers have bottomed out from what I'm understanding, as there is no new content to be seen anywhere. WWE and AEW, meanwhile, are running fairly normal. I love NJPW and miss watching it, can't stand American product, but now I'm worried we won't have NJPW much longer. I'm not an expert, though.

Anyone else have something they might know about business or NJPW to add to this? The wrestlers have expressed that it would be shameful if NJPW ran any shows at all during the entirety of the COVID pandemic... which will keep going probably for another 18 months minimum. I really hope they don't go under, but I can't help but feel that they're going so long without running any shows that their momentum is going to be kaput and they won't be able to make the money they need to stay solvent. Are these fears justified, or does NJPW have enough saved to go six months or a year without running a single show?

<p>Whoa, sub numbers haven't changed? I'm actually beyond shocked by that given the lack of content. Sounds like the extra WrestleKingdom event may have set them up well enough to survive the closure. Pretty glad to hear that they are still in the black. Times like this I'm glad NJPW is not publicly held, that's for sure.</p><p> </p><p>

Thanks for the link to that. Here's hoping that June will see NJPW return to some sort of event broadcasting. I do miss it in these hard times. Also glad they'll be safe upon reopening.</p>