World Wrestling Federation: From Montreal To Attitude

[B]Hilton Hotel, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. 5:32am, 9 November 1997. The morning before the Survivor Series PPV.[/B] I laid in bed, fully aware that it was now too late to sleep as I would have to get up in an hour. No, it had nothing to do with my wife’s ridiculously loud snoring, it was pure adrenaline. It was little over twelve hours ago I was officially offered the job as the Head Booker of the World Wrestling Federation, effective as of 1 December. I had been working there for nearly four years now, firstly as a Road Agent and then part of the booking team. Vince McMahon had been doing most of the booking, with assistance from myself, Vince Russo, Gorilla Monsoon and a couple of others. I don’t know why Vince decided to use a definite Head Booker over the joint system he used before. Vince said he didn’t know how long the on air talent could trust him, but I didn’t know what he meant and presumed it was just an answer to shut me up. As I gradually slipped out of the bed, trying dearly not to disturb the other half, I ran through our plans for Survivor Series that night. It should be a good night, as Survivor Series always is. The crowds are generally pretty hot and the roster puts on their A game. My only concern is the pro-Bret Hart crowd would crap on the disqualification finish we had planned for the Title match between Hart and Shawn Michaels. It was no secret that Hart had signed for rivals WCW with McMahons blessing. Us bookers wanted him to drop the strap ever since he signed, however, Hart always had an excuse. When asked to hand the title to Michaels that night, Hart refused, saying he didn’t want to lose to Michaels, who he had an animosity towards due to Michaels attitude off screen. He didn’t think Michaels would do it if the roles were reversed. So we settled on him vacating the title at the next night on Raw. It wasn’t ideal, but it was the best we could do. I’m surprised Vince hadn’t taken up